Relief

Bee72Bee72 Posts: 3

Hi

I'm a newbie and premenopausal. I can relate to most of the comments I've read so far has lifted some of this heaviness and paranoia, I'm actually not alone! I'm in tears as I write this, I wouldn't wish this on anyone! I've suffered with depression in the past but this is just horrible, almost unbearable. I have a male manager and he just couldnt begin to even understand, when my mood is low he takes the opportunity to be overly passive aggressive and naturally I bite, may lose my job. Home is also a challenge with 2 10 year old twins who have strong characters. Anyway, I'm rambling. Thanks for creating this group, it's really needed and actually a life saver. Bless you all x

Comments

• KazKaz Posts: 482 mod

Hello @Bee72 ,

A huge welcome to you!

It's very powerful to find all these women experiencing similar things to you isn't it? It helps to put things into perspective, and makes you feel a little less alone!

Have you been to see your GP to get some help, or have you looked at any supplements or other ways to manage your symptoms?

I'm like you - and have had bouts of depression for years. The low mood that comes along with peri/post menopause is definitely different. I tried to explain it to my GP last week when I called to ask for an increase in my HRT. Although Ive been feeling much better in the six months Ive been taking it, the low mood had begun to creep back in again, and I wanted to get it under control. "How do you know it's hormones and not depression?" she asked. I told her I know my own body, it feels very different from the depression Ive experienced before, it's not constant. It comes and goes in the blink of an eye. I can be absolutely fine one minute, and so angry and low the next. Bursting into tears at the vet and seeing the look of horror on the receptionists face was the catalyst that sent me back to my GP again. A few days on, with an increase in dose, I'm back on the straight and narrow again.