Home Welcome to our Dementia Q&A Hub Practical dementia support

Exercise ideas for my mother

blankazsanna5blankazsanna5 Posts: 23 ✭✭
edited September 2020 in Practical dementia support

Can I please ask for ideas on gentle exercise classes? It's getting harder for Mum to walk and get out and about, so I'm looking for suggestions on something simple but fun to keep her blood flowing? Thank you

Comments

• Blanka_CBlanka_C Posts: 406 Community Admin

Hi @zsanna5,

Welcome to the Q&A Hub! Thank you so much for your thoughtful question.

There's growing evidence that physical activity can have a positive impact on cognitive health and recent studies have shown that exercise may improve memory and slow down the progression of dementia. It's great that you're thinking of incorporating some form of gentle exercise to your mum's routine. :)

I'm not an expert myself, but my great grandmother lived with dementia. What helped us a lot was starting slow and building up movements over time - we started off with some very light sitting exercises, stretches particularly. We put on some music and involved my grand mother and mother as well to make it a little more fun.

We watched lots of yoga and tai chi videos on youtube first, they helped a lot.

I also wanted to share a couple of resources with you, they're full of tips and suggestions from members of our community:

Hope this helps, I'm sure others will be in touch with more tips as well!

Best,

Blanka

• cosiecosie Posts: 31 ✭✭

What stage is she? we enjoy swimming and tai chi

• blankazsanna5blankazsanna5 Posts: 23 ✭✭

Hi Blanka,

Thank you so much for your response. I'll look into these and let you know how it goes.

All the best,

Zsanna